2016 MBS National Champions Results

2016 MBS National Champions Results

National Championship Tournament Recap

St. Petersburg Clearwater Sports Commission

The 2016 Major Beach Soccer National Championship was the best attended championship to date. There were 53 teams which made up 12 divisions’ from 10 years of age through the over 30’s Co-ed division.

This year, MBS was delighted to see team participation from all over the country from as far away as Oregon, Washington State, and California as well as our own Florida based teams.

Thank you Note from our Staff:

Our partners the St. Petersburg Sports Commission and Clearwater Beach offered us the perfect beach location, weather, and environment in order for the teams to enjoy and perform at their best. We also all enjoyed a coach’s social held on Friday evening at the MBS team registration at the tournament host hotel the Holiday Inn and Suites.

Major Beach Soccer our affiliates Soccer in the Sand & The Long Island Roughriders would like to thank all the families and supporters that made the effort to cheer for their teams who executed bicycle kicks, flicks and kicks giving them so many unforgettable moments of joy and sometimes sadness.

National Championship Photo Gallery

Thank you to everyone who came, played and supported Major Beach Soccer in 2016! Be sure to check out the National Championship Photo Gallery.

Final note tournament note - Peter Mellor, Major Beach Soccer President:

Tournament Champions:


  • Champion: 1 Dunedin Sterling, Alex Liic, Dunedin, FL
  • Runner Up: 2 Sarasota Spartans, Stephen Jaynes, Sarasota, FL


  • Champion: 1 Ocala Sand Sharks, Robert Putzeys, Ocala, FL
  • Runner Up: 2 FSC Outlaws, Arthur Ruppert, New York


  • Champion: 1 IMG Academy, Kim Dean, Bradenton, FL
  • Runner Up: 2 The Dabbers, Kyle Kulas, Canton, MI


  • Champion: 1 KICKS, Richard Woolcock, Palm Beach, Fl.
  • Runner Up: 2 SOCal Barcelona, CeEsar Olmedo, Oceanside, CA


  • Champion: 1 IMG, Jorge Cruz, Bradenton, FL
  • Runner Up: 2 Lady Flames, Christine Hester, Valrico, FL


  • Champion: 1 So-Cal Legacy BFC, Steve Citron, Oceanside, CA
  • Runner Up: 2 Dune Dawgs, Laura Miller, Palm Springs, FL


  • Champion: 1 Soccer Beaches, Patrick Mitchell, Wesley Chapel, FL
  • Runner Up: 2 Cascade Kodiaks, Maddy Parton, Leavenworth, WA


  • Champion: 1 Crown Heights, Francisco Flores, Oceanside, CA
  • Runner Up: 2 Syracuse B.S.C. Warriors, Karen Belgrader, Liverpool, NY


  • Champion: 1 IMBS Beach Bums, Robert Klemczak, Boca Raton, FL
  • Runner Up: 2 PeacePassers.org, Marissa Thomas, Charlotte, NC


  • Champion: 1 Calvary, David Clevenger, Pinellas Park, FL
  • Runner Up: 2 Great Lakes Beach Soccer, Erick Khunkz, Grand Haven, MI


  • Champion: 1 Columbus BSC, R.G. Florey, Westerville, OH
  • Runner Up: 2 Rochester Italians, Marc Sotile, Rochester, NY


  • Champion: 1 Loxahatchee Road Prison, Joe Schneider, West Palm Beach, FL
  • Runner Up: 2 Lakeland United, Mindy Allen, Lakeland, FL

Major Beach soccer is looking forward to its 2017 summer series of qualifying events as it continues to grow the National Championship in conjunction with its affiliates Soccer in the Sand and the Long Island Rough Riders programs.

Watch the MBS webpage and social media posts for the 2017 tournament series dates.